Skip to content

Deep freeze

31/03/2016

One of the things that annoyed me most during my only serious visit to the USA, for a month in the late summer of 1979, was the prevalence in restaurants, bars and other public establishments of air conditioning, then still virtually unknown in Europe. Not only could I not see the need for it – since we Europeans really did manage perfectly well without it, even in the fiercely hotter parts of the continent such as Spain and Greece (which simply dealt with the extreme heat by shutting things down in mid-afternoon, having a healthy post-prandial snooze with the blinds and curtains closed, and going back to work in the cooler early evening hours – the famous siesta) – but I especially couldn’t see why it had to be so damn cold.

My visit to the States began in New York, which at that time of the year was a very hot and sweaty place; so you could perhaps understand why people might seek artificial relief from the oppressive climate. But it is generally understood that a temperature reduction of just 5ºC is enough to make us feel substantially cooler. Instead, air conditioning in New York was consistently set to around 25º, perhaps even lower, whereas the outdoor temperature was closer to 40º – a difference of at least 15º. No allowance was made for the body’s natural self-regulating ability.

The inevitable result was that I found myself literally shivering after just a few minutes at the table (I usually had to put on a warm jacket before the waiter had even arrived to say ‘Hi, I’m Dan, your waiter’); and after eventually adjusting to the far lower indoor temperature I had to re-emerge into a far higher outdoor one that made me feel as if someone had just thrown a damp blanket over me or I’d walked into a sauna fully clothed. In short, the temperature was never right; and before long the constant hot-cold-hot and damp-dry-damp fluctuations gave me a persistent cold.

A contributing factor to the popularity of air conditioning was surely the fact that many, if not most, Americans spent very little time truly outdoors. Their cars were also increasingly air-conditioned, and were used for even the shortest journeys, spawning vast car parks to cater to the influx. Many new housing districts were built without pedestrian facilities of any kind. My stepmother and a friend, both British, were once actually stopped by American police officers who saw them walking and automatically assumed they were in some kind of trouble (‘Ladies, what’s happened to your car?’). The natural climate was simply an enemy, to be fought with every possible technological resource.

Today, over 35 years later, an online BBC article reported on the perceived downsides of working in offices (which, being freelance, I can luckily avoid) – and one of them was ‘Arctic air conditioning’. Air conditioning has indeed become an ever more prevalent feature of European life – though the bar I’m now sitting in as I type this doesn’t have it even in the warmest months, which here in Holland (with so much damp in the soil) can be pretty sweaty too, from 30º upwards. But we can still manage perfectly well without it, if only because our homes are often designed to self-regulate (thick walls, louvred blinds and so on).

But once again, if air conditioning is in fact used over here, it’s almost invariably way too cold.

What’s going on? I can only assume that there’s some commercial advantage in setting the machines to way too low a temperature – or perhaps they’re quite simply not designed to be set otherwise. It’s either on, or off.

Whatever the explanation, air conditioning is extremely wasteful of energy, and so helps to pollute our already grossly overburdened environment. Its only benefits are in supposed human comfort – and yet the same improvement in our sense of well-being could be achieved with far less expenditure of electricity. A 5º difference in temperature would be quite enough, for our bodies can do the rest. As usual, nature can do far more than most of us give it credit for.

Someone, somewhere, is making a big profit out of forcing millions of people to shiver away in deep-freeze offices, cars, restaurants and bars, and then buy patent medicines when we inevitably catch cold – while our natural resistance to new infections (such as the Zika virus) is steadily undermined. All good for the economy, but no good for our health.

A telling development is the growing pressure on such economically challenged countries as Spain and Greece to abandon their ‘inefficient’ siesta culture and work ‘normal’ office hours.

Conspiracy theory? Well, maybe.

2 Comments
  1. I truly appreciate the content of your blog.. Keep going.
    Deep Freezer

  2. Thanks for this, Kirti!

    Just this morning I found myself shivering on a German train, with the air conditioning set way too low in an otherwise extremely cold April (flurries of snow fell later in the day). The funny thing about all this is that I don’t normally keep my home temperature high – 17-18º is quite enough, but people who visit me often ask if I can turn up the heating (personally I just put on a sweater). So it isn’t like I’m hypersensitive to cold. I guess I just don’t like the idea us humans monkeying around with nature too much – insisting on extreme cold when it’s hot, or extreme heat when it’s cold. The latest development, no doubt brought on by the spread of indoor smoking bans to bars and restaurants throughout the Western world, is the outdoor heat lamp on café terraces (so that smokers will continue to patronise the place even when it’s cold). To me there’s something absurd about heating up the outdoor air, since there’s far more outdoor air than we can ever hope to heat effectively. So we’re wasting vast amounts of energy in the hope of keeping a handful of customers happy.

    I much prefer the blankets that are increasingly available on café terraces, since that’s the natural way to keep out the cold if you insist in braving it (or if your smoking addiction is so great you can’t do without for a while). A small, unconventional bar in the city I live in recently justified its refusal to provide outdoor heat lamps with a sign in the window reading ‘No heat lamps – our customers aren’t wimps!’ I wish there were more such places.

    For one thing, the lamps give me a headache, so I instantly move to another table whenever someone appears on the terrace after asking for them to be switched on – I notice it’s nearly always groups of middle-aged women. It might be concluded that women are more likely to suffer from cold – and recent reports suggest they are in fact more likely to suffer from the excessively cold air conditioning imposed on them at work by their (still usually male) bosses. Perhaps it’s because they tend to have more concentrated areas of body fat than men.

Leave a comment